A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined index: title_

Filename: controllers/blogs.php

Line Number: 109

Georgian citizens to enjoy visa free travel in 22 EU member, 4 non-mem...

Blog Details

11 April 2017

The visa-free regime envisages free travel on the Schengen zone territory that includes 22 EU member countries, 4 non-member states and 4 Schengen candidate countries. 

The EU member countries are: Austria, Belgium, Germany, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Italia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Greece, France, Slovenia, Slovakia, Hungary, Finland, Sweden, and Czech Republic. 

Non-member countries are: Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. 

Schengen candidates are: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Romania and Croatia. 

Great Britain and Ireland are exceptions. Visa free travel will not apply to them. 

Negotiations between Georgia and EU on visa liberalization were launched on June 4, 2012. The Georgian government was given the Visa Liberalization Action Plan on February 25, 2013. It included the benchmarks to be met by Georgia to receive visa free travel. 

In December 2015 the EU Commission assessed the fulfillment of the benchmarks positively and published a positive recommendation.

Afterwards, the EU Parliament and Council of Europe approved Georgia’s visa liberalization.

Post Comment